Heading Out of the NWP

IMG_20160905_101356065

In a week I shall be aboard the Ocean Endeavour, heading out of the Northwest Passage.

This is my third trip as historian with Adventure Canada and it will be another incredible adventure. This time we’ll be sailing into the High Arctic!

Next Saturday (September 10), I fly to Edmonton to meet the other staff members and guests. Sunday, we’ll fly to Kugluktuk in northwestern Nunavut to board the ship, charting an eastward course to King William Island. The itinerary is not set in stone because of uncertain ice conditions, but the general sailing plan is to  head north, transit Bellot Strait, visit the monuments on Beechey Island, stop on Devon Island, then  sail farther north to Grise Fiord on Ellesmere Island. Then we’ll pay homage to fallen explorers at points in Smith Sound, visit Kap York, Greenland (where Robert Peary stole the huge meteorites– the main source of iron for the Inughuit), and travel down the glorious coast of Greenland to Kangerlussuuaq where we fly home on September 26.
Today, six days before I leave, I am rolling up my maps, reviewing my PowerPoints, getting out my polar fleece and packing my duffel bag for high northern fun.
But… I am also packing up my house, because I’m moving two days after I get home.  Good thing I’m heading to the Arctic. I need to chill out a bit!

 

About Season Osborne

I am a writer with a passion for Arctic history. After finding a photo of Capt. Joseph-Elzéar Bernier, who claimed the Arctic for Canada in 1909, I was inspired to write my master’s thesis on Bernier’s contribution to Arctic sovereignty. This ultimately led to extensive research into Canadian and ‘foreign’ expeditions to the North, which morphed into my recent book, In the Shadow of the Pole: An Early History of Arctic Expeditions, 1871-1912.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Heading Out of the NWP

  1. AJ says:

    Have a most wonderful trip, Season. Thinking of you and smiling. We are all so very proud of you and your accomplishments!
    Love, A J and our gang out west!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

